Luan and Shane dominate Sports Awards

first_imgLocalNewsSports Luan and Shane dominate Sports Awards by: – May 2, 2013 Share 142 Views   one comment Sharing is caring! Sharecenter_img Share Tweet Sportswoman of the Year, Luan Gabriel after receiving her awards and gifts presented by Information, Communications and Technology Minister Ambrose GeorgeLuan Gabriel has dominated this year’s National Sports Awards followed closely by Shane Shillingford.The fifth form student was awarded the 2012 Sports Woman of the year at Wednesdays night’s ceremony held at the Fort Young Hotel.She also collected the awards for Female Youth Athlete of the year and the Most Valuable Players (MVP) award for Female Track and Field Athlete of the year.In 2012, Gabriel became the first Dominican to win a Gold medal in a sprint event at the Carifta Games when she won the 200m race.She also represented Dominica at the World Junior Championships in Spain and was a member of Dominica’s team at the 2012 Olympics in London.Gabriel continued her dominance at the Schools Independence Athletics Meet and also the Secondary School Athletes Meet in 2012.The three awards winner described 2012 as a tough year.Shane Shillingford (left) receiving the Sportsman of the Year award and gifts from Information, Communications and Technology Minister Ambrose George“This year has been quite challenging for me because presently I am in 5th form, however I am still persevering and I will continue to work hard to make my country proud”, she said.She extended gratitude to all persons who contributed to her success and especially the Government of Dominica who has granted her a scholarship to complete her secondary school education, her college education and her university education.“I would like to thank God for giving me this great talent and for allowing me to receive these awards. I say thank you to everyone who has contributed to my development in 2012, like my family, friends, the Bioche Community, my school; the Isaiah Thomas Secondary school, the Dominica Olympic Committee, Sports Division, Trevor Shillingford, my manager and the Government of Dominica, a tearful Gabriel announced.She went on further to encourage young persons with a passion for sports to remain focused at school.“I would like to encourage the youth who are involved in sports to keep on training hard but you need to always keep up the grades in school because sports is only there for a certain time, “ she said. Gabriel is also the 2011 Sports Woman of the year.Meanwhile Dominica’s Goodwill Ambassador Shane Shillingford is the 2012 Sports Man of the year and also the MVP Cricketer of the year.In 2012 Shillingford broke a 40-year-old record set by Lance Gibbs when he took 10 wickets for 196 runs in 66.5 overs at the West Indies vs Australian test match at the Windsor Park Stadium. He also emerged as the leading wicket taker for the Windward Island in both the Senior Tournament and the WIN Lotto Tournament and as the premier Spinner in the regional West Indies competition, taking 15 wickets in a match against Barbados.In recognition of his achievement, Government has donated a portion of land at Hillsborough to the West Indies spin bowler.The other awards for Most Valuable Players (MVP) for 2012 were;•Athletics (Track and Field Male) Brendon Williams•Athletics (Track and Field Female) Luan Gabriel•Basketball – Peter Ricketts•Boxing – Lennon Bannis•Bridge – Augustus Fadelle•Cricket (male) Shane Shillingford•Cricket (female) Pearl Etienne•Domino – Royston Casore•Football (male) Kurlson Benjamin•Football (female) Kaysanda Alexander•Rounders – Annie Sablon•Softball Cricket – Fernix Thomas•Squash – Garvin Leblanc•Tennis – Mauricio Burton•Volleyball (male) Ray Robinson•Volleyball (female) Anna Maria Xavier•Special Olympic Athlete of the Year – Stephanie Laronde•Sporting Village of the Year – Dubique•Groundsman of the Year – Isaac Andre•Physical Education/Sports Teacher of the Year, Primary School –Delvin Esprit• Physical Education/Sports Teacher of the Year, Secondary School – Walson Pacquette• School of the Year in Sports, Primary –Grand Fond• School of the Year in Sports, Secondary – Portsmouth Secondary• Sports Commentator of the Year – Ossie Lewis• Sports Reporter of the Year – Garvin Richards• Official (Umpire/Referee) of the Year – Ericson Algernon Degallerie•Coach of the Year – Mickey Joseph•Club of the Year – Aspirers Athletics Club•Sports Committee of the Year – Southern District Sports Committee•Sponsor of the Year – National Bank of Dominica (NBD)•Association of the Year – Dominica cricket Association (DCA)•Male Youth Athlete of the Year – Jerlani Robinson•Female Youth Athlete of the Year – Luan GabrielThe National Sports Awards is hosted by the Sports Division in the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sports. Dominica Vibes News[nggallery id = 304]last_img read more